Atom/juno deletes Julia bin folder and then cannot find the path

Hello everyone.

I started learning Julia a while ago and installed 0.5.2. along with Anaconda, IJulia and Atom. I have to say I am a newbie in all this (other than that long time Matlab programmer, but new to Github and terminals :)).

Everything was working fine with my installation. I followed step by step these instructions and tried both Jupyter and Atom/Juno which were working.

I left it for a while and yesterday came back to all of this. I decided to install Julia 0.6.2. Since then I’ve spent hours and nothing is working anymore, therefore my call for help.

After about several tries to get Julia 0.6.2. in atom I decided to uninstall Atom (also deleted the leftover files), uninstall Julia and try everything all over again. Here is what happens.

1. I install Julia (having uninstalled previous installation and deleted User/.julia and User/Appdata/Local/julia-0.6.2). Then restart. The terminal opens and everything works. Julia is installed in User/.Appdata/Local/julia-0.6.2 and .exe is in User&Appdata/Local/julia-0.6.2&bin
  2. I install Atom
  3. From within Atom I search for uber- juno and install it. It installs without problems.
  4. I try to start Julia and it tells me that it cannot find the path specified (“User/Appdata/Local/julia-0.6.2&bin”). When I navigate to the folder, in the bin folder the exe is missing, only dlls are there, as if Atom deleted it.

Trying to install julia again does not work, when I click on the installation file (or download it again from Download Julia) it simply does not work. It shows briefly the window that is unpacking anything but doesn’t show extracting any files and it stops.

I can install it in a different path but then it does not work.