Atom/juno deletes Julia bin folder and then cannot find the path

juno
installation

Hello everyone.

I started learning Julia a while ago and installed 0.5.2. along with Anaconda, IJulia and Atom. I have to say I am a newbie in all this (other than that long time Matlab programmer, but new to Github and terminals :)).

Everything was working fine with my installation. I followed step by step these instructions and tried both Jupyter and Atom/Juno which were working.

I left it for a while and yesterday came back to all of this. I decided to install Julia 0.6.2. Since then I’ve spent hours and nothing is working anymore, therefore my call for help.

After about several tries to get Julia 0.6.2. in atom I decided to uninstall Atom (also deleted the leftover files), uninstall Julia and try everything all over again. Here is what happens.

1. I install Julia (having uninstalled previous installation and deleted User/.julia and User/Appdata/Local/julia-0.6.2). Then restart. The terminal opens and everything works. Julia is installed in User/.Appdata/Local/julia-0.6.2 and .exe is in User&Appdata/Local/julia-0.6.2&bin
  2. I install Atom
  3. From within Atom I search for uber- juno and install it. It installs without problems.
  4. I try to start Julia and it tells me that it cannot find the path specified (“User/Appdata/Local/julia-0.6.2&bin”). When I navigate to the folder, in the bin folder the exe is missing, only dlls are there, as if Atom deleted it.

Trying to install julia again does not work, when I click on the installation file (or download it again from https://julialang.org/downloads/) it simply does not work. It shows briefly the window that is unpacking anything but doesn’t show extracting any files and it stops.

I can install it in a different path but then it does not work.