Julia protips

I’m not a Julia pro by any stretch of the imagination but I just found something that wasn’t obvious and blew my mind in a very small way, and I figure there are probably other little things like this that people are discovering. So I thought maybe it would be good to have a thread here to capture these.

I’m not sure exactly how to define a protip but I guess it’s something that:

• Isn’t obvious and is interesting/useful to the poster
  • Might be obvious and/or not interesting or useful to others – no judging
  • Can be stated succinctly, ideally in just one sentence. Note that the sentence could be “There’s a really simple way to do X: <link to page that describes how in detail>
  • May or may not be in the manual or other documentation – we all RTFM (right…?) but some of us forget things or fall asleep before getting to a cool nugget

Note that this is protips about Julia generally, not (only) tips for Julia Pro! :slight_smile:

Anyhow, the thing I found today was:

There’s something similar to the output of history in bash for Julia, and IMO it’s even better that bash’s history in a few ways (and also serves a different purpose than reverse-i-search at the REPL). It’s found in $HOME/.julia/logs/repl_history.jl.

What are your Julia protips?

9 Likes

Take time to study code in Base and the standard libraries. Locate the PRs from git history, and learn the reasoning behind design decisions.

It’s like having private kung fu lessons from Bruce Lee, for free.

22 Likes

Quickly modify code in a package from the REPL without using Revise:

@eval MyPackage begin
    new_code
end
8 Likes