PSA: Glossary for beginners (WIP)

Hello, I have started this document as a handy glossary to point to for beginners. Generally intended for English as a Second Language Speakers or new users of online forums and the Julia Community in general.

Suggestions are welcome as a pull request!

https://github.com/miguelraz/StartHere.jl

Terms Meaning
foo / bar / bazz These terms are used to give an example of what is being discussed, and the names don’t actually mater. For example, foo(bar.txt) means that there is some function that will be called on a text file, but the names don’t really matter at the moment.
AFAIK As Far As I Know
MWE Minimum Working Example. A piece of code to reproduce your problem on someone else’s machine .
LGTM Looks Good To Me
YMMV Your Mileage May Vary, an abbrevaited way to say “Your experience may be different than mine”.
IIUC If I Understand Correclty
AFAIK As Far As I Know
IANAL I Am Not A Lawyer
PR Pull Request (see Git)
REPL Read Evaluate Print Loop, also known as that terminal / dark window when you open up Julia for the first time. Very useful for experimenting with you Julia codes.
TIL Today I Learned
GC Garbage Collector. An algorithm that helps manage the memory needed for Julia to run.
LLVM Julia’s compiler
GSOC Google Summer of Code. Happens once a year in June - August. Google pays students to code in Julia
COC Julia’s Code of Conduct.
Slack An online chatting forum that permits talking in different #channels, with emojis and some code formatting. Messages get auto deleted after a while.
Discourse This forum. Usually suited towards longer form discussions.
Zulip An online chatting forum like Slack, but open source, and permanent history.
GitHub / issue tags A web page where most of Julia codes are freely hosted. People usually discuss code designs and submit Pull Requests here.
Meetups When Julians meet each other in person. Usually location based with some scheduling. See the calendar for your local ones