VScode could not start the Julia language server

I have some experience in using VSCode for Python. Now I tried it with julia (running a simple Hello World -program), but it just gives an error “Could not start the Julia language server. Make sure the julia.executablePath is valid”.

I am using VSCOde for Linux ver. 1.78.2 on Linux Mint 21 and a freshly-installed Julia 1.9.0.

I found some older posts (latest in 2021) about the issue - so far I’ve tried the following:

• set the path manually or via Settings (in my case, it’s /usr/local/julia-1.9.0/bin/julia)
  • start julia REPL, installed packages both using ‘add’ and the package env ]
  • remove and re-install julia extension on VSCOde

in Terminal, I have a path to julia’s location, so I can just start it by typing ‘julia’.

What else is there to try?

The easiest would probably be to install julia using juliaup instead, and leaving the julia path setting empty. That should allow the plugin to find the julia installation automatically.

If you don’t want that (or it doesn’t work for you), I would maybe try to just symlink julia to somewhere in the standard PATH. If you add it to your path in e.g. bashrc I don’t think the plugin picks that up.

When you say start a repl, can you do that through the plugin or do you do it manually in the integrated terminal?

I might be worth having a look at the output from the julia extension, and see if there are any helpful errors there. You can find that under the output tab, and selecting julia in the picker.

It does for me. GitHub - PetrKryslUCSD/VSCode_Julia_portable: Portable Julia running in VSCode
I run vscode from bash, which picks up a local julia installation from the PATH.

Edit: Actually, I start vscode from a script that sets the path, I don’t put the Julia path into .bashrc.

I am trying juliaup now; the problems don’t disappear but they do change.
Every time I open VSCode, the program spends 1-2 min starting the Language Server