Using Custom fonts for a Package

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Julia and I’m trying to contribute to BioJulia. For the package I’m working on I need to print to the console in a custom font as I need to convert text to a set of specific symbols available in that font.

How can I include this font in my package so I can print to the console using it and everyone who adds that package will also be able to see the text in the correct font?

Thanks

1 Like

Do the symbols have standard Unicode encodings? If so, that should free you from tying yourself to a particular font.

3 Likes

I believe not. It’s called Ambiscript and it was created as a font of unique symbols.

The Julia REPL per se has nothing to do with fonts, it just emits character codes, your terminal converts that into a visual rendering using fonts. If you are using some kind of a text terminal, you should be able to set the font for that (outside Julia). Then, assuming it handles UTF8 (most should do these days) you just print the right character codes. Perhaps defining constants for them would help.

1 Like

Are you referring to the font on this page? That won’t work well - at least, if you change the terminal’s font to that you won’t be able to read ordinary text…

1 Like

Looks like such a cool way to visualize DNA, though.

1 Like

If you’re using IJulia with the Jupyter notebook interface, which runs in the browser, you can emit HTML output, and use HTML directives to control the font.

2 Likes

Like this, perhaps:

1 Like

Note that IJulia automatically calls display on the result of executing a cell. So you can either have the cell end with an HTML("<font ...>") object or call display("text/html", "<font ...>") — no need for display(HTML(...)).

2 Likes

That’s perfect! Can I ask how you imported/registered the font so it knew what you meant by DNABold?