real-time camera acquisition and processing, howto

This is the same issue that is covered by my stackoverflow post. I have searched to best of my ability online, especially this discourse and stackoverflow.

I am new to Julia. I want to use the REPL to learn, and then demo its capability.

I am on Ubuntu 16.04, installed the Julia 1.03 LTS build (downloaded binaries), and installed all packages from the package handler system from the REPL interface. Only two packages added so far: VideoIO and ImageViewer.

I want to show real-time processing of a camera feed. I am using a usb camera (video4linux2).
First impression of running VideioIO.viewCamera(): immediate crash. The interface to ImageViewer seems broken. I fixed that by making the following:

in “myViewCam.jl”:

module myViewCam
export myView

import VideoIO, ImageView;

function myView() 
        camera = VideoIO.opencamera();
        buf = VideoIO.read(camera);
        guidict = ImageView.imshow(buf);
        while !eof(camera)
            VideoIO.read!(camera, buf);
            ImageView.imshow(guidict["gui"]["canvas"], buf);
            sleep(0.00001);
        end
    end
end

which I run by:

include("myViewCam.jl");
myViewCam.myView();

This will display the videostream in a window, with initially 3 or 4 second lag. The lag evens out over time, and lands steadily on about 0.5 seconds. If I increase the sleep duration in the loop, the CPU can go lower useage, say 90% or so without frame-loss, but it then does not reduce the lag time over time.

Is there a concrete question here? What sort of error/crash do you get when running just VideoIO.viewCamera()?

I think the question is how to avoid the lag, so you can display the video in real time. I think either @ssfrr or @ianshmean were working with real-time video capture at some point?