Preferred books for the first steps with Julia?

Dear Juliafriends

I’m totally new to Julia, in other words a beginner, but I’m interested to get more details for becoming familiar with Julia.
@TheCedarPrince kindly recommended JuliaAcademy to learn more, a good opportunity. Independent of JuliaAcademy and the other online tutorials I would like to have a printed book about Julia as an addition for the first steps in learning Julia - the reason for the latter is, that when not sitting at my desktop then I like reading books :wink: , printed books more than ebooks.
I have seen that there is a category Books mentioning a lot of Julia related books. I would like to know, which of those books do you prefer for the first steps of Julia beginners?

PS:
If it’s the wrong place to ask that question here, then feel free to move it to a more correct one.

Michael

2 Likes

Tanmay Teaches Julia for Beginners
by Tanmay Bakshi

3 Likes

Depends also on whether you begin with Julia or with programming in general. Did you program before?

2 Likes

No I’m not beginning with programming in general, not from scratch.
In the past I have used Freepascal, not very extensively, but for a while. Against this backdrop I know programming in general, shall say not all bifurcations, but I know the main features.
So by implication, beginning with programming in general = No, wanting to begin with Julia = Yes.

Keeping this in mind, suggestions/ideas regarding books for the first steps with Julia are welcome.

Think Julia is very good. Think Julia: How to Think Like a Computer Scientist

10 Likes

Thanks together, I think I’ll probably choose the “Think Julia” which @PetrKryslUCSD suggested.

I think it’s more oriented towards people who are new to programming in general. The book’s introduction says This book is for anyone who wants to learn to program. No formal prior knowledge is required.