2021 Recommended self-teaching Julia material depending on computing skills

Hallo I am promoting the Julia language in New-Zealand and I am often asked the question what are the best self-taught Julia material (e.g. Books; Webinar, Julia Tutorials) depending on the level of the student:

1. Never learned a computer language before;
  2. Has knowledge of computer language e.g. R, Python, Fortran
  3. Knowledge of basic Julia programme language but would like to enhance computer skills.

Many thanks for any suggestions.

9 Likes

The Julia docs are pretty decent for 2.

4 Likes

I recommend the book Think Julia for all people, the difference is that

• For someone in 2 or 3, he/she probably only need to spend 1 or 2 days on the book,
  • While a person in 1 might need 1 or 2 weeks.

A free online version is here.

6 Likes

Just to add to this. I think I’d be between 2 and 3, since Julia is my first “real” language. What I’d like to learn better is modules, packages (really code organization), and parallel computation. I think most people coming to Julia from other disciplines would be located at that same place. They probably have used some kind of statistical software before and are interested in the speed and programming easiness of Julia. In addition, a good tutorial on debugging (stepping into functions, etc) is also very helpful.

@Wei_Yang can Think Julia help in this case?

2 Likes

Maybe Chapter 14 Files and Chapter 21 : Debugging will be useful.

And there is also a free book Statistics with Julia:
Fundamentals for Data Science, Machine
Learning and Artificial Intelligence.

4 Likes

For 1, check out: https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLP8iPy9hna6Qpx0MgGyElJ5qFlaIXYf1R (Julia programming for Nervous Beginners).

2 Likes

Along the line of Youtube videos, I like julia for talented amateurs

3 Likes

My preferred text book suitable for Beginners and Intermedia programmers is the excellent book: