Juno - how to switch console languages?

I’m new to IDEs and am trying to get Atom/Juno to a useful state.

With Juno working on Atom, the console repl is now solely Julia.
Is there a way to switch it to other languages, say python?

Editor panes recognize python scripts just fine, but attempting to execute them in Atom ends up trying to call julia.

I don’t have a definite answer, but the following may help. In the menu panel for Atom, there is a menu called Julia, which lists a command for Open Console. There might be a corresponding option for Python. Rcall has an R mode for the REPL. I’m not sure if PyCall has a similar mode.

There is not – Juno is very much a Julia IDE.
You can however open a plain terminal with the Julia Client: New Terminal command, in which you can start python or whatever other program you might want.

1 Like

I searched through the available packages and tried adding python-ide… not knowing what i’m doing. No luck though. But as R in the third language I’d want, Rcall is a help. Thanks!

Ah, gotcha. So once I’ve installed Juno into Atom there is no longer access to vanilla Atom? Other installed IDEs aren’t available? (i’m confused, and am thinking I should start over)

No, Juno is basically only a collection of packages for Atom. You can install whatever other packages you want (although other Julia specific packages might cause conflicts).

I don’t quite understand what you want though, so if you elaborate a bit I might be able to help.

1 Like

Sure, and thanks for replying…