How to make my Julia code fast like MATLAB?

Hi All, I am new to Julia and really struggling to understand what is making my code which convolutes a signal with a Gaussian or Lorentzian so slow. I have the equivilent MATLAB code that runs in 4 seconds when vectorised properly. In Julia, it takes:

368.047741 seconds (19.37 G allocations: 288.664 GiB, 14.30% gc time, 0.03% compilation time)

This is regardless of me using a triple nested for loop to calculate the sum, a double nested loop and the inbuilt sum() function, or replacing the nested loops with a multiplication of the row of every signal with the circulant kernel matrix - either using * or mul!() are both slow. It is probably worth mentioning that the signal array is size (3801, 670) after padding the orginal signal and the kernel is size (3801, 3801).

The code is as follows, please feel free to tear into it…

using MAT
using SpecialMatrices

wd = "/path/to/files"

inputfile = matopen(wd*"/AllTraj_Signal.mat")
signal = read(inputfile, "pdW")
close(inputfile)
replace!(signal, NaN=>0)
signal = signal[2:671, 1:2001]
signal[:, 1] = signal[:, 2]

inputfile = matopen(wd*"/Vectors.mat")
qAng = read(inputfile, "qAng")
tvec = read(inputfile, "tt")

struct Gaussian
    Fx:: Array{Float64}
    sigma:: Float64
    height:: Float64
    fwhm:: Float64
    tconv:: StepRangeLen{Float64}
    ntc:: Int64
    duration:: Float64
    dt:: Float64
    tmin :: Float64
    tmax:: Float64
    nt:: Int64
    function Gaussian(fwhm:: Float64, x:: StepRangeLen{Float64}, x0:: Float64, tmin:: Float64, tmax::Float64, nt:: Int64)
        duration = fwhm*3
        sigma = fwhm/2sqrt(2log(2))
        height = 1/sigma*sqrt(2pi)
        Fx = height .* exp.( (-1 .* (x .- x0).^2)./ (2*sigma^2))
        Fx = Circulant(Fx)
        tconv = x; ntc = length(x)
        dt = tconv[2]-tconv[1]
        nt = nt
        new(Fx, sigma, height, fwhm, tconv, ntc, duration, dt, tmin, tmax, nt)
    end
end

struct Lorentzian
    Fx:: Array{Float64}