Matlab versus Julia

Hi guys, I am new to Julia. I have been using Matlab for many years. I have been told that Julia can offer great improvements in terms of performance. After doing a very preliminary intro course on Julia I started hacking around and to try to understand how to write code that is actually faster. So far all the benchmark attempts I have tried failed miserably, in the sense that Matlab is always much much faster. Obviously I must be doing something wrong. Can anybody give some tips?

For example, I thought Julia would be much faster at running loops. So I tried the following in both Matlab and Julia (on the same computer)

aa = zeros(Float32,100);
bb = ones(Float32,100);
cc = ones(Float32,100);
using TickTock
tick()
for i = 1:100
for j = 1:100
for k = 1:100
cc = aa.*bb;
end
end
end
t1 = tock()

The Julia code, which I am running on Atom, runs in about 0.8 secs. The equivalent Matlab code runs in 0.1 secs. What am I missing?

thanks so much

See: Performance Tips · The Julia Language

The very first tip in particular.

In this example, do:

2 Likes

I think there are some typos vccc and testtest! But if matlab can do that in 100ms something’s still wrong, it takes 700ms for me.

1 Like

First of all, thanks for taking the time. And yes, I had caught the typos. Easy fix
However, now this takes 5 seconds to run, as opposed to 0.8. Is that what happens on your computer as well?

1 Like

Make sure you’re using BenchmarkTools @btime to get a good measurement. Julia’s function calls are always slow on their first execution because they are being compiled.

@asaretto can you show your matlab code?

Sorry for the typos. I am writing from my cell phone, so I cannot test it here. Can you post exactly your code and the Matlab code for us to see if they are doing the same?

That should absolutely not take 5s.

Matlab code:

aa = zeros(100,1);
bb = ones(100,1);
cc = ones(100,1);
tic
cc = aa.*bb;
end
end
end
t1 = toc

Julia code:

Blockquote