Sparse matrix-vector product: much more slow than Matlab

Hi guys,

I’m very new in Julia and recently I’m doing some sparse matrix-vector calculations and want to transfer to Julia from Matlab. It turns out for the same codes, it takes Matlab about 2 seconds, but about 98 seconds for Julia. I know I must be doing something wrong and hope to get some advise here. The codes are as follows:

for time = 1:200 
        tmp = 0.5 * (sparseR + reshape(q' * sparseS, 199, 199));
        rhs = (sparseM + tmp) * q;
        next = (sparseM - tmp) \ rhs;
end

where q is vector with length 199, sparseS is a 199 X 199 X 199 sparse matrix, sparseR is a 199 X 199 sparse matrix, sparseM is a 199 X 199 sparse matrix.

These codes run very fast in Matlab and I don’t know how to optimize it in Julia. Let me know if any part is confusing for you. I really appreciate any comments or suggestions. Thanks!

Are you timing in global scope?

Please post enough code so it can actually be run (so including the creation of the matrices).

2 Likes

Hi @StefanKarpinski, thanks for your reply! Yes, I’m using @time in global score and it shows 90.948970 seconds (4.01 k allocations: 182.124 MB, 0.11% gc time)

Hi @kristoffer.carlsson, thanks for your suggestion!

Here are the complete codes you can run. (The creation of the matrices is ugly, but it works. Also I’m not timing the creation part. I only care about the for loop part inside the testFun function.)

# The creation of sparse matrices. You can ignore this ugly part.

numGrids = 799;
q = rand(numGrids);
rows1 = zeros(Int64,numGrids*numGrids);
cols1 = zeros(Int64,numGrids*numGrids);
vals1 = zeros(numGrids*numGrids);
rows2 = zeros(Int64,numGrids*numGrids);
cols2 = zeros(Int64,numGrids*numGrids);
vals2 = zeros(numGrids*numGrids);
rows3 = zeros(Int64,numGrids*numGrids*numGrids);
cols3 = zeros(Int64,numGrids*numGrids*numGrids);
vals3 = zeros(numGrids*numGrids*numGrids);

count1 = 0;
count2 = 0;
count3 = 0;

for i = 1:numGrids
    for j = 1:numGrids