Getting Julia running on ATom

I have linud mint and installed julia via the sudo apt-get install command.It installs julia version 0.4.5 . I am trying to run JUNO on atom. every time I run a basic command (say “2+2”) I encounter this error:

MethodError: bind has no method matching bind(::Media.Binding{Any}, ::Atom.Console, ::Task)
Closest candidates are:
_ bind{T}(!Matched::Lazy.Binding{T}, ::T, ::Task)_
_ bind{T}(!Matched::Function, !Matched::Lazy.Binding{T}, ::T)_”

While someone suggested changing julia codebase to 0.5, but I do not know how to do that. Someone please guide.

1 Like

Use the generic Linux binary from

I havedownloaded it, unzipped it. But I do not know how to use it. I am complete novice in both linux based commands and julia

I posted some basic instructions here: Help Installing julia v0.5.2/v0.6 on fresh ubuntu install - #2 by rdeits but let us know if you need more help or detail.

1 Like

Would you mind making a PR for the Julialang website for this?

1 Like

So, I downloaded the latest version of julia. How do I create a symlink(I added the directory to the path)? And then get ATOM to launch julia. Right now, the error message pops out saying
“We tried to launch Julia from:
julia
This path can be changed in the settings.
Details:
/bin/sh: 1: julia: not found”
all the while I can launch julia 0.5.2 from the terminal.

If I recall correctly, Atom/Juno might need to be run from the terminal for it to have access to your PATH. Have you tried launching Atom by typing “atom” into a terminal?

I am using Arch Linux and I have used my package manager to install Atom.

Below is my application file (created by default by pacman):

# /usr/share/applications/atom.desktop
[Desktop Entry]
Name=Atom
Comment=A hackable text editor for the 21st Century
GenericName=Text Editor
Exec=electron --app=/usr/lib/atom %F
Icon=atom
Type=Application
StartupNotify=true
Categories=GNOME;GTK;Utility;TextEditor;Development;
MimeType=text/plain;