Best all-purpose text or website for learning Julia?

Hi, I’m new to the Julia language but I have some very modest background in Python and R. I’ve been learning what I can of Julia from Exercism.org and from taking some old R projects and “translating” them to Julia. Both have been useful and have helped me realize I want to learn more.

What’s your favorite all-purpose resource for learning Julia, whether it’s a print text, website, etc? I’m thinking of something like Hadley Wickham’s R for Data Science but for Julia. I’m aware there is a Julia for Data Science website which is helpful however there are no exercises in it, which limits its usefulness in my case. And I’ve just found ThinkJulia, and I’m a fan of Allan Downey’s stuff, so that seems promising. But I’m wondering what else might be out there.

A little more context: I’m a mathematician but my use case is primarily for doing data science, and I am relatively new to data science. (Did a couple of online DataCamp style courses but didn’t feel like I learned much there.) However I’m also interested in Julia’s applications to applied math (although my background is in pure math). The ideal resource would be fairly general, but not extremely technical, and include exercises where I could test what I am learning. And like I said, I have some background in Python and R but I would not consider myself an expert in either.

Thanks!

9 Likes

I’m a statistician who’s been an advanced user of R and an intermediate user of Python. I’m almost finished with Think Julia, which has been useful, but it feels a little too indebted to being a port of Think Python. Once I finish the last couple chapters of Think Julia, I intend to try Julia for Data Analysis, which seems well-suited to your use case, which is much the same as mine.

4 Likes

Some shameless self-promotion here, but I have a Julia tutorial series that I try to keep up to date.