Very slow loading speed of TIFF images

I’m very new to Julia. I’m trying to replace my Matlab code with Julia. I compared TIFF image loading speeds in Matlab and Julia, but the Matlab’s imread() is way faster than the Images’ load(). Is there any way to speed up the TIFF image loading?

The followings are codes I used. The test image was a 565 x 552 RGB image (~2MB).

Matlab

fname = "test_image.tiff";
tic;
for n = 1:5
    img = double(imread(fname));
end
toc;

> Elapsed time is 0.149297 seconds.
> Elapsed time is 0.039244 seconds.
> Elapsed time is 0.040094 seconds.

Julia

using Images
fname =  "test_image.tiff"
juliaRead() = begin
	for n ∈ 1:5
		load(fname)
	end
end
@time juliaRead()

>  3.442524 seconds (1.83 M allocations: 137.901 MiB, 37.48% gc time, 33.34% compilation time: 55% of which was recompilation)
>  1.193470 seconds (2.29 k allocations: 20.828 MiB, 98.60% gc time)
>  1.196542 seconds (2.29 k allocations: 20.828 MiB, 98.45% gc time)

Whay package are you using to read tiff images?

mkitti,

I tried the Images package which I believed it was using the TiffImages function.

With GMT (a 601x601x3 geotiff image)

julia> using GMT
julia> @btime gdalread("hawaii_south.tiff");
  16.711 ms (101 allocations: 1.05 MiB)

and for comparison

julia> using Images
julia> @btime load("hawaii_south.tiff");
  189.968 ms (199612 allocations: 34.36 MiB)

But Matlab is the clear winner.

>> tic; for n = 1:5, img = imread('hawaii_south.tiff'); end; toc
Elapsed time is 0.015118 seconds.

Note that I dropped the double(...) to make the times comparable and note also that Matlab time is multiplied by 5. If we divide by it we get 0.0030236

Note that the original post’s timings are almost completely garbage collection. I wonder why loading five images incurs a second worth of garbage, though.