Using Julia on a cluster

Hello,
i am new to parallel computing and wanted to parallelize a for loop. This for loop is embarassingly parallel. In each iteration of the for loop it calls sciml_train with a initial guess and computes a parameter estimate. So in the end it is a multiple shooting approach. All the initial guesses are stored in the columns of a matrix, therefore the for loop iterates over the columns. The parameter guesses after the training should be stored in a global matrix, columnwise aswell. I already tried to use the Threads.threads macro, but this didn’t work at all. Can you maybe tell me how to do it in the correct way? I can submit the job via a batch submisssion on the cluster on a few hunderd cores.

The part where i want parallelization is the following, train_model just calls sciml_train

parameter_estimate = zeros(size(parameter_guesses)[1], size(parameter_guesses)[2])
estimates_errors = zeros(size(parameter_guesses)[2])

println("Computing on $(Threads.nthreads()) threads")
@threads for i in 1:size(parameter_guesses)[2]
        p_guess = parameter_guesses[:,i]
        parameter_estimate[:,i], estimates_errors[i] = train_model(ODE, u0, tstart, tend, p_guess, time_indices, saves_t, data)
end

If you post the output of the script it will be much easier for people to help you. Chances are that whatever problem you see doesn’t have anything to do with parallelism.

Does it work if you remove the @threads macro?

About distributed computing: It should be possible to run the task you describe on a cluster. How easy depends a little bit on the type of cluster. Easiest is probably to use the stdlib Distributed and search online for a package which can plug in your type of cluster to Distributed.