Parallelization of estimation loop

I have a loop that is embarrassingly parallel and in which there is no data movement. What is the best way nowadays to parallelize it in Julia v0.6?

Assume I have an iterator type:

struct MyIterator
  length::Int
end
Base.start(itr::MyIterator)       = 1
Base.next(itr::MyIterator, state) = state, state + 1
Base.done(itr::MyIterator, state) = state == itr.length + 1

The loop that I want to parallelize looks as follows:

for x in MyIterator(10)
  y = f(x)
  # save into an array of results
  push!(ys, y)
end

where f is a complicated function. I tried just adding the @parallel macro in front of the loop:

ys = @parallel for x in MyIterator(10)
  f(x)
end

and fetching the results

ys = fetch(ys)

but it throws an error saying that length(::MyIterator) is not defined. It made sense to me, to parallelize we need to know the length beforehand. I then defined the length:

Base.length(itr::MyIterator) = itr.length

and the loop run without errors. However, the result is an array of Future, and when I run fetch I get the same array. I then tried running fetch.(ys) with the extra dot and it returned a list of RemoteException, so clearly something is still missing.

I appreciate if someone can elaborate on the expected interface an iterator has to obey in order to be parallelizable. Also, if you have suggestions on how to solve this issue that is not using the @parallel macro, I am willing to learn.

I don’t think @parallel support sequential iterators, for the simple reason that it doesn’t run the loop sequentially. It expects instead something to be abstractarray-like indexable, and is usually used with a literal range (1:niter).

@jameson could you please elaborate on the expected interface? I don’t think it is documented anywhere.

I would like to either 1) have an iterator type that does the parallelization magic for me or 2) know the current construct in Julia to achieve paralleliism in this simple example (@spawn, etc.).