How would I parallelize a for loop that's iterating over columns of a dataframe

Hi how’s it going?

I’ve read up on Distributed.jl, adprocs, and @everywhere. I tried implementing parallelization of a function I have by making sure all the necessary packages, functions, and variables were preceded by an @everywhere. I have 9 CPUs. When I ran the code and benchmarked it using @btime, nothing improved, in fact it got a little worse.

Can someone guide me on how I would parallelize a for loop thats iterating over a dataframes columns? Essentially if I have 9 columns and 9 CPUs, wouldn’t I be able to run each iteration simultaneously and make the loop 9 times faster?

I’m also new to distributed / parallel computing, so please forgive me if my understanding isn’t quite accurate.

Some example code of what you tried would be helpful. However I suspect you will have better performance with Threads rather than Distributed.

With threads make sure you start up julia with JULIA_NUM_THREADS defined as 9 or greater. You might want to use 18 if each core can handle 2 threads. If you are using bash the easiest way would be:

JULIA_NUM_THREADS="9" julia

Windows I think it would be:

set JULIA_NUM_THREADS="9"
julia

Or if you are using julia in Atom it’s a configuration setting.

I haven’t used DataFrames but I think this will work:

Threads.@threads for col in [ :a, :b, :c, :d:, :e, :f, :g, :h, :i ]
    local data = df[!, col]
    # Code goes here
end

Each iteration of the loop will be executed in a thread in parallel.

Ok let me give an example of the code, that’ll definitely help. Say I have a dictionary of dateframes and a list of keys I want to pass in to the for loop to iterate over each dataframe in the dictionary. I don’t want to index all the dataframes in the dictionary, only certain ones

user1 = “user1”

usercolumn = Symbol(user)

df1 = DataFrame()
df2 = DataFrame()

df_dict = Dict([(“first_frame”,df1),(“second_frame”,df2)])

for col in names(df_dict)