Unicode characters in Julia Markdown not exported to pdf

Hi there,

I’m relatively new to Julia and I am working in VS Code on a Mac OS. When I try to export my .jmd file which contains greek letters (\alpha, \varepsilon etc.), I get the following error message:

Info: Weaving chunk 1 from line 10
└ progress = 0.0
┌ Info: Weaved all chunks
└ progress = 1
[WARNING] Missing character: There is no α (U+03B1) (U+03B1) in font [lmmono12-regular]:!
[WARNING] Missing character: There is no μ (U+03BC) (U+03BC) in font [lmmono12-regular]:!
[WARNING] Missing character: There is no ε (U+03B5) (U+03B5) in font [lmmono12-regular]:!
[ Info: Weaved to … ]

This is the example .jmd file for which I get the error:

---
title: Test title

weave_options:
    doctype: pandoc2pdf
---

Test

α = 2;
μ = 3;
ε = 4;

I export it to pdf by using Weave (I run weave("filename.jmd') in Julia terminal in VS Code). The pdf I get displays my code chunk as:

I’ve tried including a template .tex file and using minted but the output was the same regardless.

---
title: Test title

weave_options:
    doctype: pandoc2pdf # I also tried it with pandoc and md2tex, neither worked
    template: template.tex
    minted: true
---

My template.tex file is as follows:

\documentclass{article}

\usepackage{fontspec}

\usepackage{polyglossia}

\usepackage{minted}

\usepackage{unicode-math}

\setmonofont{DejaVu Sans Mono}[Scale=MatchLowercase]

\begin{document}

$body$

\end{document}

How can I remedy this? I’ve tried quite a few workarounds suggested here, but nothing seems to have worked.

Thanks!

1 Like

Your errors suggest that the font doesn’t have the characters you need. I’d start with trying a font which does.

I’m sure there’s a way to define fallback fonts, so that the characters available in your main font render in that face, and the ones which aren’t come from the fallback. I don’t happen to know what that way is, however.

3 Likes

Thanks for responding!