Type of array containing units from Unitful

Hello! I am struggling a bit with types coming from Unitful in arrays. Here is a simple MWE:

using Unitful

array_unit = [1.0, 3, 4]u"yr"

If I look at the type of array_unit, I obtain this:

typeof(array_unit)
Vector{Quantity{Float64, 𝐓, FreeUnits{(yr,), 𝐓, nothing}}} (alias for Array{Quantity{Float64, 𝐓, Unitful.FreeUnits{(yr,), 𝐓, nothing}}, 1})

So why does this not work?

array_unit::Array{Quantity{Float64, Unitful.𝐓, Unitful.FreeUnits{(Unitful.yr,), Unitful.𝐓, nothing}}, 1}

This throws:

ERROR: TypeError: in typeassert, expected Vector{Quantity{Float64, 𝐓, Unitful.FreeUnits{(yr,), 𝐓, nothing}}}, got a value of type Vector{Quantity{Float64, 𝐓, Unitful.FreeUnits{(yr,), 𝐓, nothing}}}
Stacktrace:
 [1] top-level scope
   @ REPL[13]:1

which seems to be the same thing to me…

I am still a bit new to types so maybe I am missing something fondamental here.

Cheers,

2 Likes

The following works:

array_unit::Array{Quantity{Float64, Unitful.𝐓, typeof(Unitful.yr)}, 1}

The problem is that Unitful customizes how some of its types are printed to make them shorter. So the type that is printed is not the actual type.

In this specific case, Unitful.yr is not the same object as the one represented by yr in Unitful.FreeUnits{(yr,), 𝐓, nothing}. You can see that if you look at the type of Unitful.yr:

julia> typeof(Unitful.yr)
Unitful.FreeUnits{(yr,), 𝐓, nothing}

Unitful.yr is already a Unitful.FreeUnits object, while the object that yr refers to in the above type signature is a Unitful.Unit object (specifically, it is the object Unit{:Year, 𝐓}(0, 1//1) with type Unit{:Year, 𝐓}).

I think the custom printing of Unit (making it look as if it were a FreeUnits) is really confusing and we should get rid of it, but the type signatures would be a lot longer if we removed customized type printing. Maybe, since we already customize type printing, we should print Quantity types in the following way:

Quantity{Float64, 𝐓, typeof(yr)}