Creating a function that only takes specific units

I’m new to Julia and currently trying to use Unitful.jl to create a function that only accepts arguments of a particular type of unit dimension, for example only length. Ideally, the type of the argument should be an array of AbstractFloat (or subtype) with any number of dimensions, and the only restriction is that the units should always be of a certain kind. Without this last restriction, I can already do it like this:

using Unitful

function test(a::Array{<:Quantity{<:AbstractFloat}})
    # something inside function
end

But I now would like to restrict the type of a to be of a unit of with a dimension of length (e.g. metres, km, nm, etc.). The following seems to work:

function test(a::typeof([1.0]u"m"))
end

But this has several issues: it is now limited to 1D arrays, Float64, and it only takes units in metres (not km, or nm). Is there a way to write a type definition that will take an array of AbstractFloat, any dimension, and units of length?

I tried to build on the units of Unitful quantities, e.g:

julia> typeof(1.0u"m")
Quantity{Float64,𝐋,Unitful.FreeUnits{(m,),𝐋,nothing}}

Trying to copy paste and modifying that definition doesn’t work, e.g. I get an error ERROR: UndefVarError: m not defined. I get the feeling that there is probably a very simple way to get around this, but I couldn’t find it.

is an unregistered package that defines a bunch of convenience types: https://github.com/HolyLab/UnitAliases.jl/blob/master/src/UnitAliases.jl. If you find it useful perhaps we should integrate it into Unitful.

1 Like

Are you wanting to force a DimensionError to happen earlier than it would naturally? It feels like you’re trying to ask the library to do static checking when it is really designed to do it dynamically.

But if that’s what you need, perhaps a broadcast addition with 0u"m" would suffice?