Simple question: Time to move from 1.0 to 1.5?

I’m new to Julia, but having great success speeding up what I once did in python. ‘Threads’ might offer additional performance - but, as I understand it, it’s not available in release 1.0 and I must upgrade to 1.5. Will I be doing myself some hidden diservice leaving the ‘stable’ 1.0? Any advice about a switch - is it even noticeable?
Thanks!

1.5 is also a stable version, and I would say the majority of the ecosystem (i.e. the packages) evolves as new versions come out. Furthermore, Julia guarantees nothing will break (until maybe 2.0), so your 1.0 code should run (probably a bit faster/better) on 1.5 without any code changes.

So yes, you can and should upgrade to the latest release and enjoy all the newer language features.

4 Likes

While the core language upgrade should not be breaking, upgrading Julia probably allows to upgrade a lot of external dependencies (there are a lot of cool features in the last Julia releases, therefore it is difficult for package authors to support both the latest releases and 1.0), which may be breaking.

To be on the safe side, you could do a 2-step approach:

1. Upgrade Julia, but do not upgrade any external packages (using Manifest.toml files to fix versions). Then test your code (and fix if required).
  2. Upgrade your dependencies to the most recent version, then test and fix your code again.
8 Likes

I think v1.6 is where you want to be at in the near future (lots of improvements coming it seems), but I’d already switch to v1.5 (1.5 to 1.6 shouldn’t be too hard). Like lungben said packages would probably give you more troubles than Julia itself. I don’t recall all the breaking changes but Bio.jl, CSV.jl and Dataframes.jl are the ones that comes to mind.

Make sure you have good test coverage and take some time (maybe one day) to make the transition.

1 Like