Setting the PATH variable from within julia

Hi. I’m writing a julia package to teach julia to my students as a basis for learning maths and physics. I find that particularly students with little computer experience can have great difficulties setting things up for using VSC with julia, and a common problem is that they haven’t inserted julia into the PATH variable so that VSC can call it. At least, that’s my understanding of their problem and the solution - please correct me if you object.

Anyway, as a result, I’m writing a very first unit of the package’s course to help them set things up correctly, and one way of supporting them is to insert the julia binary directory myself into their PATH. Is there a way of doing that?

Any other tips you have to help absolute novices get up and running with julia and VSC would also be very welcome!

Thanks! :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Hi @Niall
To answer your actual question, the global ENV variable is a dictionary with all environment variables, which you can modify from within Julia.
However, this may not be the best thing to teach your students. For installation purposes, juliaup is very easy to use and takes care of path handling. I also recommend the documentation of the Julia for VSCode extension.

1 Like

Many thanks, @gdalle. I agree that the Julia for VSCode extension is excellent, however it doesn’t specifically say that you should add julia/bin to the path, yet the extension effectively requires it and the julia installation offers the default option of not doing it. The result is that my students (non-english-speaking computer novices) get into a hopeless muddle at home that I then have to sort out.