Scope of variables in Pluto

Hi everybody!

I am new to Julia, POMDPs, and Pluto… and I am using all three to try and simulate a POMDP problem. I know that I am probably making some mistakes in my POMDP, but my immediate error is:

UndefVarError: i not defined

I am curious as to why I receive this error when ‘i’ is defined within the same Pluto cell. :thinking:

I also receive warnings (image posted below) about the other POMDP variables s, r_total, d, b as well.

Nowhere in my code are any of these variables defined globally.

I appreciate any insight that can help me to solve this challenge. :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

So far I have tried different browsers, including using incognito mode, and still receive this error.

If I comment out ‘i’, and all parts of the code that rely on ‘i’, then the next error I receive is "UndefVarError: ‘b’ not defined :man_facepalming: so I think that this points to scope of these variables defined within the begin / end block of the cell, and the scope within the while loop.

begin
	up = DiscreteUpdater(pomdp);
	b0 = uniform_belief(pomdp);
	s = rand(initialstate(pomdp));

b = initialize_belief(up, b0);
	r_total = 0.0;
	d = 1.0;
	i = 0  # index of current bin
	while (!isterminal(pomdp, s)) && (i < 60)
	    determine_observations(i,1)
		a = action(policy, b)
	    s, o, r = @gen(:sp,:o,:r)(pomdp, s, a)
	    r_total += d*r
	    d *= discount(pomdp)
	    b = update(up, b, a, o)
		i += 1
	end
end

There are several issues here, but basically there is confusion over if you are trying to use globals or not. In general, in Julia, you shouldn probably minimize the use of globals unless you really need them.

One solution is to use a let block to create a local scope around the loop.

i = let i = 0, d = 1.0, s = rand(initialstate(pomdp)) # etc
    end
    i # or whatever variables you want to return  
end