Research outside of academia

@ccoffrin that sounds like a very reasonable requirement; however, it’s actually possible to achieve a greater potential as a scientist when not academically retarded by a universal social judgement institution. Why would it be beneficial for me to limit myself with the academically retarded possibilities at an institution, when I can already step ahead of them and change my paradigm before they do? Please let me know when they catch up, then I might consider joining them, if they stop their bureaucratic overbloated incompetence. It’s more efficient to not waste huge amounts of resources on the universal social judgement apparatus, when all it takes is a laptop, some food, and a few books.

No, I don’t think so: It also takes interaction and exchange of ideas in conversation with other people (and believe me, as a mathematician I know this can be challenging).

In my opinion, you are wasting your talent by making overly general and vague statements, here and elsewhere, and that is a big pity. It is better to judge individuals, not entire institutions at once. (After all, Julia itself started as one of the fruits of academia.)

11 Likes

Well, yea of course it takes all that. Do educational insititions somehow have a monopoly in interaction? I didn’t notice at least, because I get plenty interaction and discuss science with many researchers.

I disagree. One should first and foremost judge the institutuions society surrounds him with as this is the first mark of a true free citizen.

There are no individuals in institutions and all that are part of institutions bear the responsibilities, advantages and … guilts.