Registrator complains about [compat]. Fixed it. What's next?

I’m trying to register a package for the first time. I have never done this before. As you can see, I am very confused.

Registrator says The following dependencies do not have a `[compat]` entry. I fixed that in the Project.toml and pushed the fix to github.

What do I do now?

2 Likes

You can comment again on the commit you want to register, with @JuliaRegistrator register().

1 Like

I’m not sure I understand. Where do I put this comment? I have already updated the github repo. Do I put the comment on the page on https://github.com/JuliaRegistries/General/pull/…?

For example, here is the last commit to the github repo that I did after releasing a new version of the package:

https://github.com/m3g/ComplexMixtures/commit/fbeec6a00adbd15053d297542e8354c457b2a610

Note that below we add a comment, which says

@JuliaRegistrator register()

that will trigger the registrator, which will try to register the package. After fixing that compat entry, you can comment the commit to launch the registrator again.

(the has to be done for new packages or new versions of a package)

5 Likes

Sorry, I am still confused. Do I need to create a new branch, do something, and then make a PR? Rightnow everything is happening on master?
If I make a new release and comment that (is that what you did?) Will registrator know that I’ve tagged and released what is on master now?

I made a change to Readme.md and pout @JuliaRegistrator register() in the comments. Will that do the job?

Failing that, I will wait for a human to look at it.

Tagging is a separate thing.

What that comment does is to register a new version of the package. The only thing that must be consistent is the version number written in the Project.toml. Meaning: if that is your first version, you probably will release it with a version number of 0.1.0, for example.