Pluto or notebooks in VSCode using Quarto for interactive lecture notes?

TL;DR: Pluto or notebooks in VSCode using Quarto?

Hello, all

Next year, I’ll be in a position where I’ll be able to use Julia in a classroom. I’m trying to come with a set of interactive class notes that students can use to follow along during class and to study on their own. To make these notes interactive, I’ve been looking into ways to write them in a notebook style so they can run chunks of code along the way.

I have little experience with Jupyter notebooks. Mostly, I have come to them as a user and never used them to create interactive notes. To achieve my goal, I decided to give Quarto in VS Code a try. I have some experience with rmarkdown, but I’ve hit a roadblock.

Before I continue and suffer a bit in Python hell with all the environment problems I know I’ll face, I’d like to know people’s opinions on using notebooks in VSCode through Quarto and Pluto.

I tried my hand at Pluto yesterday. I like the minimalistic approach to its design; I think it’s less distracting. But my experience with Markdown wasn’t the best. I need to write equations and for that I need symbols that I know how to type in Latex, but the immediate commands I know did not work in Pluto. Plus, I am still not sure if I can add footnotes and citations in Pluto. I think the answer is no, since that is not part of what Pluto is for. Correct?

On the other hand, can I get an interactive notebook where students can run the cells on their own using a the .qmd file? I’d imagine that if I convert the .qmd file into a .ipynb, students can run it using VSCode. Right?

All feedback on experiences with both Pluto and (Quarto-powered) notebooks in VSCode are more than welcome.

Thank you.

1 Like