Notebook cells hung up in VS Code

I’m just getting started with Julia in VS Code, and I’m running into an issue where notebook cells run for hours with the progress wheels spinning. Even this simple calculation seems to be too much for my computer to handle:

Any guesses on what I’m doing wrong here?

Could you check whether you are using a Jupyter kernel, or whether you are using the Julia VS Code extension to run code? In theory the latter should be less brittle because a lot less stuff is involved. In practice, well, who knows :wink:

In the kernel selector

make sure to select one of the entries that has Julia VS Code extension printed, like in the screenshot.

1 Like

Thanks for the speedy response. Forgive my ignorance here, but I’m not sure what is the difference is between the Jupyter kernel and the VS Code extension. It looks like Julia 1.7.2 is currently selected.

When you select one of the kernels with the “Julia VS Code extension” label, then all the code execution for the notebook is handled by the Julia VS Code extension. In particular, you don’t need to have IJulia.jl installed, or Jupyter or anything else, just Julia and the extension should be enough. It will also provide a tighter integration, for example there is a variable explorer etc.

Any of the other options will run code via IJulia.jl and the “standard” Jupyter kernel setup. There are are a lot more moving parts involved, and you need more things installed. At least in theory there shouldn’t be any benefit to going with this option.

In practice it seems that our Julia VS Code extension has some problem on your system… Can you start a REPL in VS Code with the Julia: Start REPL command?

Also, when you start a cell execution, can you check whether the Julia Workspace shows a kernel, like in this screenshot:

Yep, the Julia REPL’s working fine. But when I try to expand the Julia Notebook kernel in the folder, there doesn’t appear to be anything in there.

Screen Shot 2022-03-25 at 4.18.26 PM