Matrix Free Differentiation

Hello all,

I am an Applied Mathematics PhD student at CU Boulder, and I want to implement fast matrix free finite difference methods using Julia. This appeared at first glance to be quite simple task, but when I compare the method to simply forming a sparse matrix, my method is slower.

I believe that I have followed the advice laid out in the Multidimensional algorithms and iteration post that @tim.holy put together. I am a bit stumped at this point and think that I am missing something obvious.

I am running Julia 1.8 on an Intel MacBook, if that is helpful.

using SparseArrays, LinearAlgebra, BenchmarkTools
function D_matFree(u::AbstractArray{T,N}, h::Real, order::Real, dim::Int) where {T<:Real,N}
    du = similar(u)
    if order == 0
        du[:] .= u[:]
        return
    elseif order == 1 
        fwd =  1/ h * [-11/6, 3, -3/2, 1/3]	# 3rd order
        # fwd = 1/ h * [3/2,-2, 1/2] # 2nd order
        cnt = 1 / h * [-1/2, 0, 1/2]
    elseif order == 2 
        fwd = 1/h^2 * [35/12, -26/3, 19/2, -14/3, 11/12] # 3rd order
        # fwd = 1/h^2 * [2,-5,4,-1] # 2nd order
        cnt = 1/h^2 * [1, -2, 1]
    elseif order == 3 
        fwd = 1/h^3 *[-17/4,71/4,-59/2,49/2,-41/4,7/4] # 3rd order
        # fwd = 1/h^3 * [-5/2,9,-12,7,-3/2] # 2nd order  
        cnt = 1/h^3 * [-1/2, 1, 0, -1, 1/2]
    else 
        @error "Not implemented for order $order"
    end
    bwd = mod(order,2) == 0 ? fwd : -fwd

sz = size(u)
    @assert all(size(du) .== sz)

J = length(fwd)
    bnd = Int(floor(length(cnt)/2))
    left = CartesianIndices(sz[1:dim-1])
    right = CartesianIndices(sz[dim+1:N])
    @inbounds for i in 1:sz[dim], l in left, r in right
        if i <= bnd
             du[l,i,r] = dot((@view u[l,i:i+J-1,r]), fwd)
        elseif sz[dim]-bnd <= i 
             du[l,i,r] = dot((@view u[l,i:-1:i-J+1,r]), bwd)
        else 
             du[l,i,r] = dot((@view u[l,i-bnd:i+bnd,r]), cnt)
        end
    end
    du
end