Julia Project - AIMA - GSOC2018

Hallo,

having gone through many of the projects, AIMA project seemed very intersesting to me. I am a third year student in the Department of Informatics and Telecommunications at the University of Athens. During the current 5th semester of studies I studied AI. What is more I have read the AIMA book and I am very interested in making, improving and learning algorthims. I enjoy adding usefull comments in my code and to create documentation for it. I have a quite good expirence with AI and AIMA code. I have a lot of ideas about this project and I have always wanted to build such a library. I would like to know how I can increase the chances to get selected for this project. I would also like to add that in my github account I have completed 2 pacman projects and kakuro project(as csp problem).
Links:
https://github.com/PetropoulakisPanagiotis/Pacman_Project
https://github.com/PetropoulakisPanagiotis/Kakuro_csp

Thanks in advance,
Panagiotis Petorpoulakis

A history of quality contributions to Julia packages usually helps a lot for GSOC. Try to find a package you are interested in, learn its structure, start with small PRs, fixing issues etc, then move on to bigger ones.

1 Like

@Tamas_Papp Thanks a lot for bringing out a very valid point.

@Panagiotis_Petropoul as you have realized by now the project in interest is a software engineering project. That means more than the complexity of the algorithms the intent will be to keep the interface usable for varied problem scenarios. Hence, will suggest you understand the language well by actively contributing to some of the packages.

@sambitdash Thank you for your reply. I will follow your advice.