Is Julia gone under next Debian versions?

Hello there!
I am relatively new to Julia and I have started to use it for my research activities.

Probably I am wrong, but I have seen that Julia seems to be no longer available under Debian. On Debian Tracker julia - Debian Package Tracker I have noticed that “the package is going to disappear unless someone takes it over and reintroduces it”. Indeed, Julia seems to be not present in the Debian repository for forthcoming releases (e.g., Bookworm). Could someone tells me what is going to happen?

Antonio

Hi! welcome to discourse.

The julia GitHub README states:

Note: Although some system package managers provide Julia, such installations are neither maintained nor endorsed by the Julia project. They may be outdated, broken and/or unmaintained. We recommend you use the official Julia binaries instead.

The general recommendation is to download from the website instead of depending on OS repos.

7 Likes

Oh, that’s fine. Thank you!

Also check out GitHub - JuliaLang/juliaup: Julia installer and version multiplexer. We are starting a more widespread test phase this week, and then it will become the default recommended way to install Julia.

My hope is that at that point we can also put it back into things like Debian as the official Julia distribution.

10 Likes

Downloading a .dmg file on a MAC seems much easier.

I just installed juliaup with brew, and then two julia versions to this Mac. This almost could not be simpler!

4 Likes

While for the Julia user/programmer indeed there is little burder in installing from official site than from official deb repos, we still have the problem that if Julia applications/scripts want to be shipped in Linux distros, they will need a suported OS package…

1 Like

yes users would love another “I ran sudo pip and it broke my system python help” situation

2 Likes

Hopefully not.

1 Like