Importing package into Main conflicts with an existing identifier

Hi all,

When trying the code below I get the error “importing HV04 into Main conflicts with an existing identifier”. Is there a way to resolve this? I’m quite new to Julia so could be making rookie errors.

When I restart julia and try using Pkg, using HV04, HV04.greet() is says “greet is not defined”.

Any help would be much appreciated.

module HV04

# Write your package code here.
export greet
greet() = print("Hello World!")

end
import HV04
HV04.greet()

Hi @Aje12, maybe you are loading an older (or different) version of the HV04 module. You can check which package version you are loading using import Pkg; Pkg.status(). Also you can check the path of the loaded module using import HV04; pathof(HV04). You can provide us this information for further help.

You can check at the documentation for how to develop packages.

1 Like

@josePereiro

Hi thanks for your reply. I’ve tried what you suggested and this is what I get

Status `C:\Users\aaron\.julia\environments\v1.5\Project.toml`
  [c52e3926] Atom v0.12.24
  [6e4b80f9] BenchmarkTools v0.5.0
  [336ed68f] CSV v0.7.7
  [aaaa29a8] Clustering v0.14.1
  [a93c6f00] DataFrames v0.21.7
  [38e38edf] GLM v1.3.10
  [28b8d3ca] GR v0.52.0
  [a2cc645c] GraphPlot v0.4.3
  [6049f220] HV04 v0.1.0 `C:\Users\aaron\~\code\HV04`
  [7073ff75] IJulia v1.21.4
  [b9914132] JSONTables v1.0.0
  [e5e0dc1b] Juno v0.8.4
  [093fc24a] LightGraphs v1.3.0
  [2f5eb75a] LightGraphsFlows v0.4.1
  [6f286f6a] MultivariateStats v0.7.0
  [14b8a8f1] PkgTemplates v0.7.13
  [91a5bcdd] Plots v1.6.9
  [d330b81b] PyPlot v2.9.0
  [ce6b1742] RDatasets v0.6.10
  [fc66bc1b] SNAPDatasets v0.1.0
  [bd369af6] Tables v1.1.0
  [b8865327] UnicodePlots v1.3.0
  [37e2e46d] LinearAlgebra
  [9a3f8284] Random
  [9e88b42a] Serialization
  [10745b16] Statistics

I tried pathof but nothing came up

julia> import HV04
ERROR: importing HV04 into Main conflicts with an existing identifier

julia> pathof(HV04)