How to start contributing?

Hi there!

I am new to open source community and looking forward to contribute in open source projects.I am using Julia for around two months and am extremely impressed with the language.

I am interested in scientific computing and data science specially in

Machine Learning
Numeric Optimization
Deep Learning.

Are there any areas that are suitable for a new comer to contribute to? It will be of great help if you can suggest me how to contribute?

Being a newbie,my question may sound weired.Sorry for any inconveniences caused.

Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

Welcome!

My recommendation to people who are new to the community and want to contribute, is to come up with some project that you want to do in Julia , and then as you work on that project, you’ll naturally find bugs, lacking documentation, etc. that you can help fix. This is the “bottom-up” approach, in my own made-up terminology. This is mostly what I do, as I work on a mixture of modelling and optimizing spiking neural networks, developing a new IDE for Julia, and just toying around with various side projects written in Julia.

The alternative is to simply look at the list of issues for a package’s (or Julia’s) repository online, and see if you can fix said issue. This is the “top-down” approach.

I would always recommend that, as a newcomer to the language, you start with “bottom-up” until you are more comfortable with the language and its ecosystem, at which point you’ll be better able to just go “top-down” when you feel like it. Even once you’ve gained sufficient experience, I think you’ll find you spent most of your contribution time fixing bugs or issues that you personally ran into while trying to do what you do.

4 Likes

Thanks a lot!