How to get started to contribute to Julia and packages

I have coded in Julia for a little month and I am very excited about many things.

Since it is a programming language in its freshman year, improvements are to be made.
And I would like to contribute to these but I am quite new to the open-source community, Julia, and working with Github - so I actually don’t know where to start.

So, my questions are maybe a little naive and maybe not all the questions should be addressed here but let me be excused if that is the case:

1. How do you contribute to a package?

2. How do you debug code from Github in a Julia environment easily?

3. How and where do you reach out to the contributors when you want to share your idea or work?

4. Do you have any advice for being part of the Julia open-source community that would be nice to know?

All the best,
Benjamin

PS: I could find a topic on this, which is why I am posting.

4 Likes

Each package has a set of contributing guidelines. Check if a CONTRIBUTING.md file is present in the repository of the package you are interested in contributing to.

Watch this video: https://youtu.be/IdhnP00Y1Ks

Projects have issue trackers. For example, you can open issues on repositories hosted on GitHub.

• Be ready to interact with competent professionals from various scientific domains.
  • Try to think out of the box as opposed to enforcing a view of the world inherited from other programming languages and communities.
  • Many users coming from other popular languages get frustrated when they don’t know how to do something in Julia. Be patient and assume that a very elegant and well-thought alternative solution already exists. You will experience many “A-HA” moments in this journey.