How to run Julia project in VS Code?

Hey all,

Sorry for the simple question. I’m pretty new to Julia and I’m struggling with opening a project in VS Code. The project in question is:
https://github.com/qojulia/QuantumOptics.jl

I downloaded the project, installed Julia and its extension on VS Code, opened the master folder, tried to run master.jl via “Execute File in REPL” but I keep getting errors like:

UndefVarError: Operator not defined
Stacktrace:
 [1] top-level scope

Could someone help me please? Thank you

Hey! Sorry if I am misunderstanding your intentions.

QuantumOptics.jl is a so called package. It is meant to be installed via the package manager. In particular, a package defines its external dependencies and the package manager will resolve them for you.

I would highly recommend to read about Julia’s package manager here
https://pkgdocs.julialang.org

Since the package is filed in Julia’s package registry, issuing
] add QuantumOptics from the REPL is enough to install it. Note that there is no need to manually clone or download the files from GitHub.

After installation has finished, using QuantumOptics will make the functionality available in the running Julia session. This will essentially load the package by executing the file src/QuantumOptics.jl – not master.jl like you tried. When trying to run master.jl first, a lot of code that should have been loaded first hasn’t, and hence the error you got.

If you are looking to use the functionality the package offers e.g as demonstrated in the docs Tutorial · QuantumOptics.jl, there is nothing more to do.

If you want to dig into the source and potentially make changes or extend it, I would recommend using the package manager to “develope” the package: ] dev QuantumOptics will clone from GitHub, resolve dependencies and make the source files available under ~/.julia/dev/QuantumOptics, although you are free to change that path.