How to Loop through excel files in a folder and update external links

Hi everyone, I am just starting out learning coding and essentially just use it to make ends meet at work at this stage, so apolagies in advance for being uneducated and illiterate in the matter.

I use the below code in python to loop through all xlsx files in a folder to update external links and save.

#import packages
from pathlib import Path
from openpyxl import workbook, load_workbook
import win32com.client
from tqdm import tqdm

#get excel files
SOURCE_DIR = r"K:\06_Lab\14_Mix Data & Submissions\Devon St Designs\Current Designs\Infrequently Used Designs"
excel_files = list(Path(SOURCE_DIR).glob("*.xlsx"))
number_of_excel_files = len(excel_files)
print(number_of_excel_files)
excel_files

#loop through files and update links
for excel_file in tqdm(excel_files):
    File = win32com.client.Dispatch("Excel.Application")
    File.Visible = 0
    wb = File.Workbooks.Open(excel_file, UpdateLinks=True)
    wb.Close(SaveChanges=1)

It is extremely slow - (100%|██████████| 62/62 [38:44<00:00, 37.49s/it])

I was wondering if someone could help me with the equivalent code in Julia or atleast point me in the right direction on the assumtion it would be much faster than python?

Thanks in advance for any infor or advice!

It will only be much faster than Python if Julia somehow has a very fast library to work with Excel files, what I doubt. Programmatically accessing Excel files is slow and terrible, I say by experience.

1 Like

Okay thank you very much!

It doesnt help they are clunky poorly designed sheets saved on a network folder =\

The most widely used excel reader and writer in Julia is XLSX.jl and I’d be interested to see how it performs in comparison, but I’m not sure it has the functionality that you’re after (updating links).

1 Like

Python isn’t doing the heavy work in your example, it is using the Excel Com Object itself to perform the update.