Do I need to configure anything in VSCode to switch to using v1.6.0?

I’m new to the VSCode editor and have some very basic newbie questions:

1. I just upgraded from Julia 1.5.3 to 1.6.0. Do I need to configure something in VSCode to made the editor “switch” to the newer installation? In the Getting Started guide it says:

“If you have installed Julia into a standard location on Mac or Windows, or if the Julia binary is on your PATH , the Julia VS Code extension should automatically find your Julia installation and you should not need to configure anything.”

So based on this, I would guess the answer is yes?

1. How do I check what my current PATH variable is?

2. How can I see what Julia version VSCode is using?

Apologies for the newbie questions…

Does this help? It’s easier than a wall of text to explain :wink:

5 Likes

Thanks, I had checked Settings but the path doesn’t appear…

I can still run Julia though, so it is set up somehow…

I think, it looks at the default location, so it may find another installation, not necessarily the latest version.
Just configure it to your needs, add the path to your v1.6.0.

So in rereading a thread that I started back in December (when I first downloaded VSCode), I was reminded of the very helpful versioninfo() command, which produced this:

julia> versioninfo()
Julia Version 1.6.0
Commit f9720dc2eb (2021-03-24 12:55 UTC)
Platform Info:
  CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6200U CPU @ 2.30GHz
  WORD_SIZE: 64
  LIBM: libopenlibm
  LLVM: libLLVM-11.0.1 (ORCJIT, skylake)

So it looks like it’s running the latest version! This answers my question 3.