Could not start the Julia language server. Make sure the `julia.environmentPath` setting is valid

Hi, I’m new to MacOs, and currently want to use VS Code to run julia into the system but there’s notification:

Could not start the Julia language server. Make sure the julia.environmentPath setting is valid.

I’ve read here that I need to:

edit your configuration settings, execute the Preferences: Open User Settings command (you can also access it via the menu File->Preferences->Settings ), and then make sure your user settings include the julia.executablePath setting. The format of the string should follow your platform specific conventions, and be aware that the backlash \ is the escape character in JSON, so you need to use \\ as the path separator character on Windows.

But since I’m very new to Mac and Julia, I have no clue how to do it. Thank you.

1 Like

Have you installed julia?
If not, I’d recommend first installing it via juliaup: GitHub - JuliaLang/juliaup: Julia installer and version multiplexer

This should add it to your path so vocode can find it.

If you’ve already installed it, but vscode still can’t find julia, I’d recommend starting Julia from the command line, and then running Sys.BINDIR to get the path.

I’ve installed Julia and the path location is /Volumes/Julia-1.8.1/Julia-1.8.app/Contents/Resources/julia/bin
However, when I tried to put this at settings.json in Vscode

{
“workbench.colorTheme”: “Default Light+”,
“terminal.integrated.commandsToSkipShell”: [
“language-julia.interrupt”
],
“julia.symbolCacheDownload”: true,
“julia.environmentPath”: “/Volumes/Julia-1.8.1/Julia-1.8.app/Contents/Resources/julia/bin”,
“julia.enableTelemetry”: true
}

it didn’t work. It is stated:

Could not start the Julia language server. Make sure the julia.executablePath setting points to the Julia binary.

Thank you

That’s just a confusing error message. Put

“julia.executablePath”: “/Volumes/Julia-1.8.1/Julia-1.8.app/Contents/Resources/julia/bin/julia”,