Blog: Using Julia on the HPC

Hi all!

Recently, I gave a talk at a HPC conference on using Julia to take advantage of the low barrier to entry for high-performance parallel code at every level (threading, multiprocessing, GPU etc). I was asked to write a follow up blog post on the same topic. While I do not talk about everything, it may be of interest - you can view the blog post here.

There is also an accompanying GitHub repo with all the code here.

p.s. In the blog, I do a performance comparison with C++, but I am no C++ programmer, and it would be useful if someone could comment on whether I am being fair in the comparison.

23 Likes

I really wish ClusterManagers.jl is more robust and self-contained and has multiple way of connecting worker/main node under different network conditions

3 Likes

I am a complete rookie in Julia but know a bit more about C++. I have skimmed through the blog post and related GitHub project, I found them quite interesting, thanks for your effort!
My only question is related to optimisation levels, at least for CPU execution. Did you use defaults or maximum levels in both cases? IMHO, the latter would be a really fair comparison of perf capabilites between C++ vs. Julia.

A curiosity:

Why do you need to fill with zeros inside the function, if you are initializing to all zeros before the call? (and later you do the same by initializing the CUDA array and the Darray).

Am I missing something?

Anyway very nice article, I enjoyed the read!

Thanks for the interest.

For the C++ compilation I just used g++ -O3 main.cpp. Is there anything that I missed?

Ah yes! That’s a good point, you haven’t missed anything. In my original talk, I moved all allocations outside the benchmarked functions, but I chose to include the allocation line in the blog post, as I thought it was easier to understand. So having the input set to zero was a relic from the first iteration. I suppose I wanted random_walk! to work with “unzeroed” memory.