Why no canvas popping up with Plots

Hi every one I hope you can help me out. I’m new to Julia and new to vs code.
Running a simple program in vs code using plots, no plot pane shows up. If I run it in the julia terminal line by line it does show up but running the .jl file it does not show up.

using Plots
f(x) = sin(x)
plot(f, 0, 6.28292)
println(“Hello World”)

The program prints Hello World and pauses until I press a key. I installed plots and there is no error.
What have I done wrong?
Any help would be greatly appreciated,
Thanks,
Elisabeth.

Welcome to the Julia Discourse! Have a look here for tips on writing posts, in particular for formatting the code examples.

I think the problem is that in the terminal (REPL), the result of every line is automatically displayed, so when you run plot(f, 0, 68292) it shows the plot. But when you run a code block in VS Code it probably shows only the result of the last line (here the last line has no result: the println call writes the message to standard output but then it doesn’t return anything).

You can force the display of an intermediate result with the display function:

plt = plot(f, 0, 6.28292)
display(plt)

Thanks verry much for your reply. It feels good to know there are people out there that want to help me.
The code now looks like this and it still does not display a plot pane.

using Plots
f(x) = sin(x)
display(plt)

vs code gives a wavy line under “plot(f, 0, 6.28292)” saying : Possible method call error. Julia(incorrectCallArgs)

I tried copying examples from the reference page but they produce the same result.
Thanks for your help,
Elisabeth.

1 Like

I don’t use VSCode, so I can’t swear to this, but Plots · Julia in VS Code mentions that plots appear “in a new tab”. Are you missing the new tab, expecting a pop-up, perhaps?

I’m not able to reproduce your result with VS Code. All seems to be working fine for me:

What is your versioninfo()? Mine is