Why is Julia's graphics system so slow?

Hi, all,

I am relatively new to Julia, and am using Julia 1.6.2 as well as newest Plots.jl, pyplot.jl and Gadfly.jl. I am programming Julia using vs code extension.

I find that drawing charts and plots in Julia is particularly slow. Sometimes it takes me 10 seconds to draw a simple scatter plot with 200 points, both using Plots with pyplot back end or Gadfly. This is especially true when compared with base R or ggplot2 solutions.

I am just curious if it is my configuration which causes the time-consuming plotting process, or the graphics solutions in Julia is slow by nature? Is there any possible solutions to this issue?

Thanks.

1 Like

Do you experience this slowness only on the first invocation of a particular plot or always. The former is expected -it even has a name “time to first plot”- the latter should not happen.

The reduction of “time to first plot” is actively being worked on (yes it was a lot worse). It is caused by Julia compiling the needed functions on the fly (precompilation only does half of all the compile work).

If you search for “time to first plot” you will find a large amount of reading material…

6 Likes

If you google time to first plot julia you can get a lot more information on the topic, including all the work the devs are doing/have done to reduce this lag.

Once I compiled a system image with StatsPlots, DataFrames, StatsBase, and such, it made time to first plot very small… See A Julia DataAnalysis Sysimage from PackageCompiler It’s so easy you should do it too!

6 Likes

You could also give VegaLite.jl a try, it has pretty good startup time.

2 Likes

Hi @aachener,

(Probable) Cause

From what I can tell, it appears the slowness comes from VSCodeServer’s SVG rendering facilities.

It is indeed more noticeable for scatter plots — or any plot that requires the rendering engine to generate alot of “plot markers”.

Background