Julia plots are very slow in every run

I am relatively new to Julia. I find plotting very slow; though I found some questions and responses about slow plotting for the first time due to compilation, in my case it is slow every time. Here is what I am doing:

@gif for n ∈ 1:nt
    surface(x,y,un[:,:,n], ylims=(0,2), xlims=(0,2), zlims=(1,2))
end

It took 11 minutes 15.3 seconds! The size of un is (161, 161, 100).
Is it normal? Or what should I do to make it faster? I am using Julia version 1.6.7 on Ubuntu 20.04 on VS Code. I tried to run the same code using julia script.jl command. It also takes about the same time.

For me , the following code launched in vscode (after precompilation) runs in a few seconds:

using Plots
nx,ny,nt=161,161,100
un = randn(nx,ny,nt)
x = 1:nx
y = 1:ny
@gif for n ∈ 1:nt
   print(n)
   surface(x,y,un[:,:,n], ylims=(0,2), xlims=(0,2), zlims=(1,2))
end

I did a first run to precompile using nx,ny,nt=10,10,10 to fasten things.

This is clearly not normal times you are observing. Even the compilation time should not be that long.

1 Like

That definitely sounds excessive - your code doesn’t run, but taking the example from the Plots.jl docs I get:

julia> @time @gif for i in range(0, stop = 2π, length = n)
                         f(x, y) = sin(x + 10sin(i)) + cos(y)

# create a plot with 3 subplots and a custom layout
                         l = @layout [a{0.7w} b; c{0.2h}]
                         p = plot(x, y, f, st = [:surface, :contourf], layout = l)

# induce a slight oscillating camera angle sweep, in degrees (azimuth, altitude)
                         plot!(p[1], camera = (10 * (1 + cos(i)), 40))

# add a tracking line
                         fixed_x = zeros(40)
                         z = map(f, fixed_x, y)
                         plot!(p[1], fixed_x, y, z, line = (:black, 5, 0.2))
                         vline!(p[2], [0], line = (:black, 5))

# add to and show the tracked values over time