Why is it so hard to install packages in julia from China?

I just installed Julia, but its so difficult to use packages, I am about to freak out. always have errors of different kind. just wont work
can anyone help me a little,there is no one around me who use julia, i really exited about the language but its been so hard to handle these errors.
coundt simply install Plots, first its fail to update regerstry, then its request errors, am i alone here?
i am new to programming, please help, how should i solve these? i really want to continue.

It looks like Julia canā€™t connect to the package server. Are you sure you had internet connection when you did this operation? Are you perhaps behind a firewall which blocks all Julia traffic?

3 Likes

@hanchend Please do not give up! Everyone where is very friendly and we will help.

So a couple of questions:
You are running Julia as Administrator? Do you not have a personal account?
Do you know what the proxy setup is on your network?
Can you do operations such as command line git clones from github?

1 Like

On line 3:

ā€œFailed to connect to pkgā€¦ā€

it means your internet connection is either not stable / out of quota / very slow.

Another possible way perhaps the server is down for a moment.

Donā€™t give up, everyone here is very friendly and we are open to newbie, I ask a lot here, and get the answer that I need >95% of the time.

I just start using Julia this year actually on Juneā€¦ and my first topic here is asking how is Julia vs Trilinosā€¦ silly question now that I look back on itā€¦

Remember known knowledge is because people only learn sooner, no one is smarter, thatā€™s the words I always remember to stay humble and on the ground.

4 Likes

No one around me use Julia as wellā€¦ but it will not stop you I believeā€¦

You can watch JuliaCon and read books on Julia or online tutorial like this:

https://mth229.github.io/calculator.html