Which reference is undefined here?

Hi,

I’m still quite new to Julia and am trying to make a simple plot. Please consider the following:

zth=Vector{Vector{Float64}}(undef,length(DaT))
tth=Vector{Vector{Float64}}(undef,length(DaT))
zthcnvplot=plot(title="Position",titlefontsize=10,
        xlabel="t",ylabel="z",legend=:topleft,grid=false)
for (i,D) in enumerate(DaT)
    zthcnvplot=plot!(tth[i],zth[i],label="Dimp="*string(D/1000)*" km")
end
display((zthcnvplot))

zth and tth are vectors of vectors, which have correctly been calculated in the part indicated with …, and the lengths match and are preset correctly. Nonetheless, I get an error

UndefRefError: access to undefined reference
Stacktrace:
 [1] getindex(A::Vector{Vector{Float64}}, i1::Int64)
   @ Base ./array.jl:801
 [2] top-level scope
   @ ./In[79]:31
 [3] eval
   @ ./boot.jl:360 [inlined]
 [4] include_string(mapexpr::typeof(REPL.softscope), mod::Module, code::String, filename::String)
   @ Base ./loading.jl:1094

Line 31 is the line in the for loop. What is wrong here, which reference is missing? All variables I use have been defined somewhere before.

Have you filled both arrays completely? I.e., are any indices still undef from your initialization?

1 Like

Good point - turns out: no. So, thanks for that.

This of course raises (again) the question to the developers why error messages in Julia are usually rather useless. A much more useful error message would have been “Trying to plot undefined array values in array tth”. An “undefined reference” can really be anything, and the least an error message should do is to tell which of usually several variables in a line causes the trouble. This is never done in Julia, and it needs to be fixed.

I don’t know, it looks like the error message was enough for someone on here to figure out the problem without seeing your full code or an MWE?

Also it looks like you’re working in a Jupyter notebook and the stacktrace says

In[79]:31

Is the error not on line 31?