What I learned using Julia to solve the first 50 Project Euler problems

I’m a 24-year veteran of Python programming, and during that time I’ve gotten really comfortable with the language. I first looked seriously at Julia 4 years ago; to learn Julia better, I rewrote much of the core of PyQuante in Julia. I haven’t really picked up the language since then, because I’m a manager now and don’t do much of any kind of programming anymore. But I was increasingly impressed with what I was seeing in the Julia world, and I decided to learn the language a little better over my spring break stay-cation.

I decided to re-solve the first 50 Project Euler problems. It has been a while since I’ve done any of these (2008, am I really that old?), so in a way it was like starting from scratch, although I had the answer to the problems at the bottom of each problem. It was a great experience, and I thought I would write up what I learned

Speed matters

I’ve made the argument for years that the slow speed of python doesn’t matter, because I could always use numpy or profile the code and write bottlenecks in C. But it’s liberating to have a language that’s fast through and through. When I solved the Project Euler problems in Python, I would normally write a simple version that worked for small cases, but had to figure out a smarter way to code the problem that work work for large sizes. In Julia the simple version typically worked for the small and large cases.

The intentionality shows