What do you work on? Why is it important?

In a recent conversation with a friend he asked me why I spend so much time on Julia ecosystem. He generally liked the language and agreed it’s an excellent tool for many technical tasks, but he expressed doubts that Julia - given its current state and the state of other languages like Python - is the optimal solution for the real world problems with high impact on the future of the human race.

Being an ML engineer, I pointed out that many unconventional problems (say, Deepmind’s Alphafold) require not just standard blocks available e.g. in Python libraries, but also a lot of custom code. And Julia is the perfect tool to write such custom code efficiently. I know Julia libraries are steadily catching up Python counterparts, but Python is unlikely to ever become as fast as Julia.

Perhaps this is the main reasons I personally put my time into Yota / Avalon stack. I believe these and connected packages (NNlib, ChainRules, ONNX, Zygote, Flux, Knet to name a few) will eventually form a basis for an efficient and flexible ecosystem with much more extensive capabilities for AI than any other programming language. These new capabilities in their turn will enable new applications in bioinformatics, robotics, agriculture and so on, so it’s very much real world impact.

Do you have a similar story? In particular:

1. What do you work on?
  2. Why is it important? What problem - smaller or larger - does it solve?
  3. Why do you use Julia for it?
24 Likes

It’s a time thing. Python was once not as popular as Perl. But things slowly came around for python as it’s easier to code with. Julia is easy to code and can be faster but TTFP is an issue (getting massively improved!).

Also, there’s a study that ppl who use Chrome or Firefox tend to have higher levels of productivity. The fact that they looked for a better tool than IE is predictive of certain traits, e.g. looking for better ways to do thing.