What are the steps to create your own package in Julia?

New question on Julia related forum:
What are the steps to create your own package in Julia?

https://www.stemiac.com/forum/julia-programming/what-are-the-steps-to-create-your-own-package-in-julia/

I am not a package developer but I think something that’s important in the Julia ecosystem is the use of Project.toml and Manifest.toml files that define an environment. It took me a very long time to understand how environments work in Julia so it might be worth your while to understand it well.

Second, is the use of multithreading and distributed parallel computing. Likely your code wont use distributed computing (i.e. addprocs, pmap, spawn and family of functions), but likely can use multithreading to speed up code. What happens when the user tries to run your function across many threads and your function itself is also using threads. There was a great video on how this “nested” parallelism works, but I can’t seem to find it right now

There are two very convenient tools for that:

1. setting files up via GitHub - invenia/PkgTemplates.jl: Create new Julia packages, the easy way
  2. registration via JuliaHub
2 Likes

What does new package needs to provide in order to be officially accepted?
How to use existing packages while building your own new package?

The General Registry is not a curated list, so there is minimal moderation. There are some automatic tests your code has to pass. These include checking the version, name, dependencies are all according to the guidelines and it builds and runs.

Your package should have a Project.toml file and that file should have a dependency section where you specify which existing packages you are using. 10. Project.toml and Manifest.toml · Pkg.jl