Streamlined way of making a package?

Julia has a detailed, comprehensive, punctilious package management system. As a user of Julia, I am grateful for this.

I’m finishing up a paper. Part of it is a new solver for some nonlinear PDEs. Although I’m a seasoned programmer, I’m a novice when it comes to Julia so I apologize in advance.

I’ve spent a couple of days reading tutorials on how to make packages with Julia, and I’ve tried and failed to do this with my software. This is perhaps not entirely bad, reading this, it seems like simply having a package in the registry requires an engineer to monitor things because upper version numbers need to be kept up to date. It also doesn’t help that I seem to be the only one using jupyter, everyone else is using vscode. I don’t think ] works to do Pkg commands.

So I have given up on having my package in the registry, but I am wondering if there’s a way I can make my package “easy to use” even if it’s not in the registry? Is it easier to make a package that is to be installed via Pkg.add(url=“https://github.com/…”)?

Also, it is tremendously confusing to me to then have to Pkg add my own package, then Pkg dev it, and now it’s in ~/.julia, so it’s not in my Dropbox anymore. Also, Julia seems to want to know my Github username and passwords, can that be simplified down? What is the minimal way that I can put my package on Github, have it simple for me to develop, but also have other people be able to use it?

Thanks!

S

Edit. Solution was found by several people, I’ve credited nsajko. My main problem was that LOAD_PATH and JULIA_LOAD_PATH can interact in a confusing manner with package loading, and apparently their use is discouraged. I had . in my JULIA_LOAD_PATH. Once I deleted it from the path, I was able to do using MyPackage. Details in the thread below.

3 Likes

]add <URL> works

1 Like