VARX Model Estimation and Analysis

As a beginner, i would like to ask if Julia provides any package (or function) for black box polynomial model estimation (preferably VARX model) and anaylis.

1 Like

Hello and welcome to the community :wave:

What kind of data are you modelling? Would a statespace model on the form

\begin{aligned} x(k+1) &= Ax(k) + Bu(k) + Ew(k) \\ y(k) &= Cx(k) + w(k) \end{aligned}

work? This kind of model can be easily converted to an multivariate ARX model after estimation if required.

what kind of analysis are you interested in performing? There are a few model-validation methods implemented in ControlSystemIdentification.jl, but they don’t really target the time-series usecase as much as they do the system-identification use case. See also this post for several packages targeting time-series use cases.

2 Likes

Hello @baggepinnen :wave:,

Thank you for your reply. I have seen your effort and it is very impressive. Basically, I have been reading the documentation of Julia for a while, and that of your package. I have a good background in programming, but i am new to the ‘logic’ of Julia in comparison with other programming languages.

I am conducting research for Structural Health Monitoring of a Ship Structure. And VARX as model is proper for the modelling stage (at least by using MATLAB and R sometimes).

I have been using MATLAB many years, but i understand why people search for alternatives.
I have knowledge of the domain. So, if you want, i can help (under your guidance) in your effort to enrich the package with time-series/polynomial models and more.

Thank you again for your time!