TSAnalysis: time series analysis and state-space modelling

Hi all,

I am a third-year PhD student in Statistics at the London School of Economics and Political Science.

I just released the first version of TSAnalysis (https://github.com/fipelle/TSAnalysis.jl). This package includes basic tools for time series analysis and state-space modelling. I plan to create an environment for forecasting centred on TSAnalysis and based on my doctoral research.

TSAnalysis is written entirely in Julia (for now, it is a rather small package). In addition to simple Arrays, it uses data structures from LinearAlgebra for symmetric and diagonal matrices. This is particularly beneficial for the stability and speed of Kalman routines, estimation algorithms (e.g., the EM algorithm in Shumway and Stoffer, 1982), and to handle high-dimensional forecasting problems.

This is my first Julia package - any feedback is very welcome!

Bibliography

• R. H. Shumway and D. S. Stoffer. An approach to time series smoothing and forecasting using the EM algorithm. Journal of time series analysis, 3(4):253–264, 1982.
12 Likes

Was it developed in response to inadequate packages in the R ecosystem? What are the reason for creating a Julia pkg apart from that it is fun and Julia doesn’t have one?

Hi,

I developed this package as a lightweight base for some computationally expensive methods that I am using in my PhD thesis (I will release these forecasting methods in the coming months). It was not in direct response to packages (or lack thereof) in R or any other language.

There are several time series packages. However, focusing on state-space modelling, I found that:

• Alternative filtering and smoothing routines are sometimes unstable, inefficient or not compatible with incomplete data (i.e., data with missing observations).
  • Other approaches are not efficient for computing h-step ahead forecasts in out-of-sample evaluations.